Here we are

TOMATOES

Summer is officially here and the tomatoes responded accordingly. Many of the tomatoes that set in the Spring began to ripen on the vine this week. I have harvested and eaten many tomatoes, both cherry type and regular type. I ate my first Black Russian tomato this evening. It wasn’t very pretty so I did not take a picture but it sure tasted alright!. Incidentally, I have observed that the tomatoes that set in Mid Spring are all ugly. Many are cat-faced (funny shaped) and many had some kind of blemish. Hey, I eat them anyway. Some are pretty no matter what, like these Otradny tomatoes (determinate type). The plant is rather small and compact and the flavor is not bad so I may grow them again in spite of my promise not to grow determinate tomatoes anymore.

Otradny Tomato

One of the tomatoes I am awaiting with curiosity is the Great White. Although this tomato is supposed to be large, my Great White tomato plant is smallish. It is growing in a mix of coir and top soil. By the way, all my tomatoes growing in coir are small. I have heard many theories about this but the Internet has not settled on an answer yet. Coir drains well and keeps moisture for what seems like an eternity so it’s not that. I read that adding Epson salt helps. Ultimately, it may have something to do with the source of the coir. We’ll see.

Great White

POTATOES

I emptied one of my potato bags and found that the potatoes therein had boiled with the heat. The soil was wet and very hot. Expecting the same with my other bags, I emptied them all and was glad to find 10+ lbs. of potatoes. If I had left them in, they may have grown larger. I will enjoy them nonetheless. Next year, I am going back to growing them in the ground.

Potato goodness

PEPPERS

One of my Anaheim plants has began to produce peppers. Last year, my Anaheim plants were prolific. I expect the same this year. One of my Jalape├▒o M plants has peppers as well as one of my Mini-Bell plants. If things work like they have in the past, the rest of the plants will catch up in late Summer and really go crazy in early Fall.

Anaheim. I see a roasting in your future.

CUCUMBERS

I ate the first cucumber of the season last night. It was delicious!. There are more on the way. Also, the Lemon Cucumber container has began setting fruit. I can’t wait to taste the Lemon Cukes.

I see you...

Lemon cucumber. It's supposed to taste like citrus.

MELONS

I did not plant Watermelon this year. I did not have the room. I planted┬áMinnesota Midget cantaloupe however, because it’s supposed to be a compact vine (someone forgot to tell the plants!). You can eat these guys rind and all. They are very sweet if you let them ripen all the way in the vine.

Minnesota Midget: The size is small, the flavor is BIG

FLOWERS

The volunteer Giant sunflowers have bloomed. They add a nice yellow accent to the greenery. The birds will enjoy them. The holes on the leaves are from hail.

Pretty

WHAT I KNOW

Space your tomato plants generously so that you may work on them comfortably. I never experienced this problem until I had 40+ plants.

Over and out.

4 Responses to “Here we are”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I thought your tomatoes was pretty. Then when the sunflower showed up…. I thought what a awesome flower that is. Your garden gave lots of surprises this morning :-D

  2. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    Your garden is doing great. Good point on dealing with all the tomatoes!
    I have potatoes in pots too and am wondering when to harvest them. I read somewhere to put a tarp over them when they start dying back to keep rain from getting in so they’re not wet when you harvest them. Haven’t done that yet. I keep wanting to poke in there to see how the spuds are doing.
    I’ve never heard of the eat-it-all cantaloupe. I have a standard one that is vining everywhere! I’m starting to train vines around my tomatoes.
    Glad to see the big sunflower too!
    Have a good weekend.

  3. Rebecca Says:

    When we were planning our “dwarf vines” garden this spring, Minnesota Midget was one of the melons that I found. However, I grew it one summer out in Ohio, and while it may not be as vigorous as a pumpkin, the claim that it has 3 foot vines is not at all accurate!

  4. Sabrina Says:

    It always amazes me how soon your veggies are ready for harvest! I plant sequentially (my summer veggies don’t go in until my spring veggies are done), but my tomatoes haven’t even flowered yet! Enjoy your produce!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

