Summer Bounty

It’s been very busy around here. I barely can keep up with the watering and the weeding and the eating of the produce. I have roasted peppers and I have made chiles rellenos. I have roasted tomatos and I have made tomato soup. I have eaten many veggie sandwiches and I will eat many more before the season is over. Oh yeah, and I don’t have to wonder what went into growing my veggies; I know: dirt, water, and sun.

I began selecting what tomatoes will grow in the garden next year:

TOMATOES

  • Siberian
  • Juliet
  • Jubilee
  • Yellow Pear
  • Sungold
  • Black Krim
  • Black Russian
  • Great White
  • Amateur’s Dream
  • Otradny
  • Tiny Tim

This may actually be the final list. A surprise for me this year were the Juliet tomatoes. Wow! They are tasty and the plant is prolific but what I REALLY like about them is that by the time all my other cherry tomatoes are getting mushy on the dinning room table, these guys are as firm and delicious as when I picked them. Another surprise was the Great White. I REALLY liked the flavor of this tomato. The plant however is a little picky on setting fruit, at least under the conditions of my garden. The Otradny were really good and while many tomatoes in my garden cracked with the crazy rain patterns, these little guys stayed nice and round. The Sungold cherries lived up to the hype and boy! are they sweet! The Black Krim and Black Russian are very good black tomatoes. I would have liked to compare them to Cherokee Purple but none of my Cherokee Purple plants have set any viable fruit. Last but not least is the Tiny Tim. I grew it as a novelty but it won my heart with it’s hardiness. It is truly a compact tomato and I will try to grow it year round inside the house. I will experiment with it to see if it will provide me with fresh cherry tomatoes during the Winter.

I have harvested and eaten many cucumbers including Lemon Cucumbers which I liked well enough to grow them again next year.  I have harvested and eaten many Minnesota Midget cantaloupes as well.

FAILURES

This year I was not able to grow a single bean. I don’t know if it is the heat but all the bean blooms fell. The peach tree fell apart under the weight of the fruit. I never got around to pruning the tree or thinning the fruit and the poor tree paid for it. My radishes have been spotty. I’ve grown a few but most just grow nice tops and no bulb.

Here are some pictures of some of my bounty:

Jubilee tomatoes -with Anaheim for added color

Hungarian Yellow Wax, California Wonder, and Mini Bell.

Cucumber and Yellow Pear tomatoes

THE CAGE

The cage experiment was a success to a point. It was a great way to grow some early tomatoes. The cement under it made it nice and warm for the tomatoes to develop early. Now however, the cage is a death trap. I still have a few tomatoes in it and all are heat stressed. At any rate, my dog Lexie has calmed down considerably and I think I won’t need to protect my plants with the cage next year.

Over and out.

5 Responses to “Summer Bounty”

  1. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    Glad to hear it was your garden that has been keeping you from your blog.
    My beans didn’t make it either this year. Sorry about the peaches though.
    Looks like you good on tomatoes to grow again and your garden efforts have produced a lot! Yea!!
    Stay cool and enjoy.

    • yaquigrande Says:

      Gardener,
      Yeah, it takes me about an hour to water everything and then I have to try to keep up with the grass, which is my main problem. All in all though, I am doing better than last year.

  2. Princessdiva Says:

    How are your black krim?? mine were small when I set them out, because I was late to get them germinated. I finally found one about the size of a peach and a few smaller–so at least we may get to sample a few! My peach tree is sagging, but it hasn’t broken. . .YET!! THey are ripening nicely–but next time I think I will prune off a LOT of fruit.

    • yaquigrande Says:

      Princessdiva,
      My Black Krim plants grew and set fruit fairly well. They are not as productive as say, my Siberian or Amateur’s Dream but at any given point I have 3 to 4 tomatoes growing on them (per plant). I was lucky in that I only lost 2 branches on the peach tree. That leaves me with three for next year, unless of course, they break before I harvest the peaches, which I plan to start this coming weekend.

  3. Lucy Corranderl Says:

    Beautiful photos of your produce. Very tempting!

    Thank you for following Pictures Just Pictures. I’ve reached the limit of memory blogger allows for photographs so I have to stop there but I will be continuing on another blog. It is

    Message in a Milk Bottle
    http://messageinamilkbottle.blogspot.com/

    It has a different look but is, otherwise, the same – a photo every day.

    Lucy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

