More and more…

It seems like the more I get done the more there is to do. The potatoes are ready for more soil but I did not get it done.  It’s on the list. The carrots need thinning but I did not get to it. Tomorrow for sure. I’m trying to get at least one variety of each tomato and pepper out and planted. I am almost done. Next I will start planting  indiscriminately until all my plants are outside. Why don’t I have it done already you ask?

Crying over spilled soil... me not her.

You are looking at the reason why so much has not been done yet. Everything takes twice as long when I am worrying about what Lexie is doing while my back is turned. Ripping this bag of soil is her version of fun.

COIR
I have switched from peat to coir. I need to settle on a routine for making my potting soil. This is the first year I try coir. It comes in bricks. You add water and presto! Next we need to add compost and vermiculite.

Dry coir bricks

Add water and they plump

All ready for use in about 10 minutes!

If you don’t know, coir is processed coconut fiber. People are switching to coir from peat because peat is not really a renewable resource. Once you harvest peat, it takes a long time to form again. The only thing I don’t like about coir is the price. I can get peat cheaper than I can coir. I am hoping with more people using coir, its price will drop. I paid about $2.50 dlls. per packet of two bricks.

TOMATO RUMINATIONS
I am trying a novelty tomato this year. Tiny Tim is supposed to grow only to 7-10 inches in a pot and give approximately a dozen cherry size tomatoes. I hear the flavor is average. I’ve seen pictures of this tomato variety growing in coffee cups. I sowed about 10 seeds but only one germinated. I think I sowed the seeds too deep. The plant is Determinant so once I get my 12 tomatoes, the plant is done.

Tiny Tim; for conversation only

I continue to rave about the Amateur’s Dream tomato. Again this year, it is the strongest, fastest-growing tomato plant in the lot! It shook the damage from the most recent hail storm like it was nothing. I remember the tomatoes tasted ok from last season. I intend to do a better taste test this year. The plants produces well. It is an Indeterminate type and it’s of Russian provenance.

Amateur's Dream; outgrowing them all

On the opposite end of the strength spectrum lie the Box Car Willie tomato and the Abe Lincoln tomato. Both of these plants seem to die at the slightest provocation. First, temperatures below 40F -but not freezing, killed both these plants. Then, the hail storm killed them both. It’s a good thing I had backup plants inside. I am on the third planting and the Abe Lincoln plant is looking a little sad (sorry, no pictures. I did not have time).

I planted more peppers today. Tomorrow I will sow my cucumbers if it is the only thing I do in the garden!

2 Responses to “More and more…”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Oh your dog! ha ha… looks like she wants to garden as well 😀

    Looks like you have gotten many things done in your garden already. Back up plants?… cool!

    I hope your cucumbers will take off well 😉

  2. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    Good luck on all the tomatoes.

    Garden chores are like weeds. As soon as you take care of one, a whole new group show up!


Leave a Reply

