Tomatillo News

I am growing Tomatillos for the first time. I chose a giant variety and a regular green variety. In case you’ve never heard of tomatillos, they are used primarily to make the salsa verde you may have eaten at your favorite Mexican restaurant. When I finally get to harvest some, I intend to slice them and put them in my sandwiches. Anyway, walking in my vegetable patch after today’s thunderstorm, which by the way, made all my plants seem so happy, I saw that one of my Mexican Husk tomatillo plants has blooms. I don’t know much about tomatillos but I think it’s a bit early for them to be blooming. Then again, maybe not.

Overachieving tomatillo?

VOLUNTEERS

I love my volunteer plants. I have a number of Giant Sunflower volunteers growing here and there. The birds love them too. These guys grow to about 7 feet tall (approx. 2 meters) and produce sunflowers about 8 inches wide (approx. 20cm). Also, Marygolds are popping up all over the place.

Volunteer giant sunflower. She will be tall!

TOMATO PROFILE: Silvery Fir Tree

I am growing Silvery Fir Tree tomatoes this season. The leaves on this tomato plant are quite unique. The plant really does resemble a Fir tree although my picture below does not show it. You really have to see it next to a regular tomato plant to appreciate it. I hear the tomatoes are delicious. The only thing I don’t like is that the plant is Determinate. I prefer Indeterminate plants that I can harvest all season long.

Silvery Fir Tree tomato

THUNDERSTORMS

So I read that during thunderstorms, the rain water gets fixed with Nitrogen and that’s the reason my plants are so happy after a thunderstorm. What fascinates me is that it happens so quickly. I checked on my plants at lunch time and they did not seem so upright and vigorous as they are now after the storm. I swear they even look…taller!

SPRING ALL WEEK

Spring returned this past week and my cool weather plants have responded accordingly. The peas grew and my lettuce sprouted. Just as it should be.

PEACHES

The peach tree seems to have thousands of baby peaches (ok, hundreds for sure).

baby peaches

This could be my best growing season thus far.

7 Responses to “Tomatillo News”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Our tomatillo seedling (still indoors) has buds on it, but I thought it was just an anomaly due to stress of being a big seedling in a smallish pot.

    • yaquigrande Says:

      Rebecca,
      you could be right. These plants got a tad too big for my taste while they were inside. I think next year I will sow my tomatillo seeds outdoors.

  2. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    We had a thunderstorm yesterday and I swear everything is taller and fuller today. The garden seems so clean after a good rain too. Never heard of tomatillos. Will be interested to see what they look like.

  3. Princessdiva Says:

    My husband’s grandma grows tomatillos in southwest Ks. I haven’t seen her plants, nor even tasted them–even though she gave me a frozen package last fall–I have been waiting to make a salsa out of them–if I could ever remember that they were in there! Our peach tree also has a ton of tiny peaches that I noticed last week. The blooms were just opening when we had a freeze the first part of April–so am hoping that these have survived and will not fall off the branch–we had a handful of peaches about 3-4 years ago before I knew to expect a harvest–so I truthfully have no idea what to expect with these!

    • yaquigrande Says:

      Princessdiva,
      good to hear about your peaches. This is only the second time our tree had any. The first time, the fruit was attacked by these tiny moths and all the fruit was ruined. This year I will try to beat the moth (which I never found out what it was) and bag a few peaches.
      I am excited to grow tomatillos for my sandwiches as well as for my salsa.

  4. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    I wish my marigolds would volunteers as happily as it sounds yours do. I have some volunteers that keep popping up in an overwintered pepper pot several years in a row now… heading for a genetic bottleneck, I’m sure.

    Silvery Fir tree did well for me last year with tasty, very early fruit.


Leave a Reply

