Flower Noob

Although I am getting somewhat comfortable with growing vegetables from seed, growing flowers for me it’s a different story. The only flowers I have successfully grown from seed are Marigolds; and all the credit here should go to the Marigolds. Marigolds self seed in my yard and they happily come up when they are ready and grow into bright little bushes. So, last season, in an effort to attract more pollinators I bought an Avens (Geum) plant. I planted it and quickly forgot about it as the vegetables demanded all my attention. This year, as I was clearing the dead grass and tree leaves from the veggie patch, I was surprised to find the Avens plant alive. I cleared the weeds around it and fertilized it. This is what it looks like right now:

Avens Lady Stratheden, naked.

Encouraged by the survival of the Geum, this season I bought some more perennials. Here’s my Butterfly Bush:

Buddleia 'Attraction' (Butterfly Bush)

Thrift Armeria:

'Splendens' Thrift Armeria

Firewitch Dianthus:

'Firewitch' Dianthus

And this sorry looking thing is King Edward Yarrow:

Achillea 'King Edward'

Hopefully, they will all grow and bloom for me. My strategy for selecting these perennial plants was simple: If it said ‘perennial’ in the tag and it had a little picture of a butterfly, it made it in the flat. Incidentally, these suckers were EXPENSIVE. The cheapest one was $5.00 American dollars! If I am going to stick to growing flowers, I really need to learn how to grow them from seed!

Also, I am very excited because this year I get to buy a new camera. Yay! All the blurry and horribly composed photos in my blog have been taken with a 6 year old (Update: my wife reminded me that the camera is really 8 years old), point-and-shoot camera. I know, I know, you  make a picture and thus the bad photos are mostly due to my lack of talent HOWEVER, It’s a new camera man! I am looking at the new 4/3 micros. These guys have interchangeable lenses and work like an digital SLR camera but they have no mirror box so they are more slender and lighter than your usual digital SLR. I am looking at an entry-level model because I don’t have too much money to spend. Right now, the Olympus pen E-PL1, is my top choice but I am still looking

Camera

Olympus PEN E-PL1. Is she not a beauty?

Posted in Spring. Tags: , . 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Flower Noob”

  1. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    You will love the butterfly bush. It will definetely attract butterflys, especially Monarchs in the fall. Remember, perennials multiply and come back. You will get your money’s worth from them. The yarrow and dianthus are easy to care for. I’m not familiar with the others.

    • yaquigrande Says:

      Thank you Gardener;
      It’s good to know that I will get more plants later on. One mistake I think I made already is that I may planted some of these guys too close to each other. Will it kill them if I move them later?

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Hello David! I like that butterfly bush… the purple flowers 😀 The form is special also. Plant more! And don’t forget to update your choice of camera ok 😉

  3. Princessdiva Says:

    You have thrift too!! I have NEVER heard of that, but found some at Walmart–it had some cool foliage and the flowers were cute too–hope it does well. One thing that you should try is caryopteris or blue mist spirea. I bought mine at Brady Nursery in Wichita–I got one and like it so well that I bought 3 more. A butterfly and bumble bee MAGNET!! Your kids will love it–best of all, it requires little attention or water–my kind of plant. I believe that I had pictures of mine on my blog from last summer–I’ll have to try to look and see the post date–it would list under the headings flowers and/or gardening and the pictures were probably taken in August or September ’09–if you are interested! I think that I have also seen smaller ones at Lowes.


Leave a Reply

