DIY Watering Spike – Implementation

In a recent post, I laid out the theoretical construction of a watering spike. Here is its implementation.

Step one, cut a section of garden hose and drill holes on it. The position of the holes is dictated by the depth of the root of the plant. Remember, the idea is to deliver the water to the root and to avoid top watering.

garden hose segment with holes drilled

Step two. Cap the end of the hose. In the planning post, I suggested a small water balloon as a cap. I did not have a water balloon but I did have a less-than-fresh carrot slated for the composter. I inserted the carrot in the hose and broke it off when it was nice and snug. I could have also bought some cork at the hobby store for this step.

You go with the plug you have...

Now with a biodegradable cap!

Step 3. Couple with empty plastic bottle. In this case the garden hose is smaller than the mouth of the bottle so I inserted the hose into the bottle. It wasn’t super tight but it was not loose either.

Assembly complete

I tested it and I was surprised to see that it did not leak at the cap at all and on the top, the leakage was negligible. I think if I add the small rubber balloon, there will be no leakage at all.

To insert into the soil, it was necessary to pre-drill the hole with a stick of similar diameter. Once that was done, the spike went in easily. I thumped the soil around it a bit. I changed the bottle to a two liter plastic bottle and filled it with water. The spike held the bottle firmly.

DIY watering spike in action

All in all, my DIY watering spike performed as well as the factory made ones. I will now construct a number of them and put them in all my planters (except the sub-irrigated ones) and in all my plants on the ground.

You may wonder why I did not just use PVC pipe since it is rigid and tough. First, there is evidence that PVC pipe leaches harmful chemicals into the soil under normal garden conditions. Second, the idea behind this project was to reuse the garden hose destroyed by the sharp teeth of my dog.

MEANWHILE IN THE GARDEN…

The strawberries are showing some color.

Strawberry blushing.

The blackberry bush is blooming

Blackberry blossom

The peas have flowers too

Pea flower

Oh, and I’ve added Phlox to my collection of perennials

Phlox

Over and out.

9 Responses to “DIY Watering Spike – Implementation”

  1. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    Yea for your water spikes. So glad they worked and you found a new purpose for the chewed garden hose. I’m guessing those are close up photos taken with the new camera. Nice.

  2. yaquigrande Says:

    Gardener,
    Thank you and yes, those are the first photos taken with my new camera. I am still learning my way around it but I love it!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Your watering spike is a good idea. And I love the phlox in the last picture… pretty!

  4. yaquigrande Says:

    Thank you Stephanie,
    Phlox is very popular around here and it comes back every year.

  5. Ottawa Gardener Says:

    Evidene of a truely efficient worker that uses the materials at hand. I love the carrot plug and it’ll break down to enrich the soil. Brilliant. This is also a great use for an old house.

  6. yaquigrande Says:

    Ottawa Gardener,
    Thank you! I thought at first that maybe the carrot would not last through the whole season but then, carrots in my composter take a long time to break down so I am hoping the carrot plug is a viable solution.

  7. annie Says:

    very nice idea but not very easy to refill the bottle and use a second time.

    • pulltabMiner Says:

      Annie, the post doesn’t mention that I always cut a hole at the bottom of the bottle (now the top) to refill it with water. If I go back to growing plants in containers, I will revive the idea and who knows, maybe improve it.

      Happy Gardening!


Leave a Reply

