Sigh…

After a week of freaky cold temperatures that did nothing for my tomatoes and peppers, I now have to worry about the severe tornadoes (is there any other kind? fluffy, mildly annoying maybe?) we are expecting this afternoon. And dangerous hail is expected as well! –I think they say dangerous when the hail is golf ball size and larger.  At least a tornado is somewhat localized, but with hail no plant in the area is safe!

What really chaps my saddle is that I just bought the cinder blocks to install my second rain barrel and also, I bought the last of the tomato cages for the season. I sure hope I have any plants left to water and to support with my cages after today. Like I said: sigh…!

**STORM UPDATE**

A strong storm did hit us but thankfully there was no hail and no tornadoes so all we got was a lot of water. I also found that my 35 gallon barrel was leaking at the valve so I transferred the rain water that was left in it to the new rain barrel –25 gallons total.

Posted in Spring. Tags: , , . 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Sigh…”

  1. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    I’m feeling the same way! Just remember, possibility does not mean probability with weather forecasts!

  2. Princessdiva Says:

    EEEK!! It wasn’t supposed to do anything but be windy here today. I just got home after helping at the school for the morning. Seriously, the sun was shining as I went to lay down the 2 year old. When I came out 20 minutes later, it is RAINING–with that ugly yellowish tint to teh sky that means bad news!! Praying for everyone’s safety!!

  3. yaquigrande Says:

    Gardener,
    I tend to be pessimistic when it comes to weather in Kansas but of course you are right.

    Princessdiva,
    Some of these storms sure are fast! I can sure use the rain but not all the other stuff.

  4. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    Glad to know the storms didn’t damage your garden. Yea for the rain barrel. Can never know about those leaks until it rains. I think this year was the first one in a long time that I got everything tight enough from the start and had no leaks. I’m usually shuffling some water like you. Here’s to calmer weather.

  5. Rebecca Says:

    We sure were paying close attention to the weather updates yesterday!!


Leave a Reply

