It’s a deep subject

I have a well and for the past three years I have not used it. This well was dug by the original owner of this house. The well was dug solely for watering the lawn. I know this because the sprinkler system was connected to the well and the well was capped. Three years ago the pump of the sprinkler system went out and I could not get a single sprinkler company to fix it. I suppose there is no money on replacing pumps. I suppose if I called them to install a new sprinkler system they would come. I suppose I could just replace my lawn with something else. Last year I began searching for an inexpensive hand pump system to pump water from this well. It is just sitting there going to waste.

Free water for the taking

MORE FREE WATER

My 50 gallon rain barrel is full. I need more rain barrels! Joe’s Car Wash here in town sells 55 gallon plastic drums for $20 dollars. They were out for the moment but I left my name and number and they will call me when they have some available.

50 gallons ready to go!

BAGGED FRUIT

I bagged some fruit on the trees to see what happens. The idea is to protect the fruit from bugs and birds. This has been done for a long time in Asia and for a while in the U.S. I used cheap zip-lock bags acquired at the dollar store. Cut holes at the bottom corners and zip around the stem of the fruit. Staple on both sides of the stem. This is easier if you zip the bag half-way and put one staple on before you insert the fruit in the bag. I am excited to see the results in late Summer.

It's in the bag

TOMATOES PLUS

The Amateur’s Dream tomatoes are growing nicely. My cabbage and broccoli are doing well. The peas are beginning to plump and just about every tomato plant in the garden has blooms. The potato plants are lush. I found a caterpillar in one of the tomato plants and some aphids in one of the apple trees. Other than that, the bugs are elsewhere.

Looking good!

This little guy was having lunch.

Hey! I am eating here!

Over and out.

4 Responses to “It’s a deep subject”

  1. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    I don’t know anything about water well pumps. Good luck. I love the bag trick for your fruit. I read about that somewhere for peaches. I hope it works for you. Love the style of your rain barrel. Very cool if you can get those barrels from the car wash. I’m guessing your plants didn’t get much damage from the hail. Have a great gardening weekend.

  2. LLF Says:

    Hmmm, if you don’t have them looks like you need chickens – they would LOVE that little worm.

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Zip-lock bag :-D… that’s so cool and easy to fasten! But they are expensive here. I saw gardeners here just use ordinary plastic bags.

    • yaquigrande Says:

      Gardener,
      My poor plants keep on taking the beatings and they keep on growing. I have found well pumps but they are expensive! I will keep on looking though.

      LLF,
      I would love to keep chickens but I have one particular neighbor who would just have a cow if I kept some. Maybe when I finally buy my small farm…

      Stephanie,
      I saw a film where Chinese apple growers use paper bags. I do agree that zip lock bags are more expensive. Next year i will use the regular bags with the folding top.


Leave a Reply

