State of the Garden

Here are some of  the things happening in my garden today:

**NOTE** Picture intensive.

TOMATOES

I don’t get tired of looking at the Amateur’s Dream plant. Incidentally, this is the only one I have. I thought I had another but I have not found it yet. These beauties just keep getting bigger and bigger.

Yumminess ensues

The Maskotka tomato plants are producing as well. I see pictures of this plant growing abundantly over the edges of containers but mine look spindly. Some people nip the first blooms in tomato plants to direct the plant’s energy to producing deeper roots and more foliage but I don’t. I figure the plant knows what it is doing. I hope they fill in later in the season though.

Spindly but fruiting

Despite having the earliest fruiting date of all my tomatoes, Stupice was not the first plant to produce fruit. It came in fourth place after the Amateur’s Dream, the Galina, and the Maskotka.

From Hungary with love

Here’s the plant I am watching with drooling anticipation. My Black Russian finally has fruit! I can’t wait to sink my teeth into this baby.

Come to papa!

THE OTHER VEGETABLES

I dug out a carrot to check on their development. Also, I began to harvest peas. Both were garden-fresh delicious!

Essentials

Behold my carrot and potato jungle!

First time my potato plants got this big

Tomatillos!!! This is my first tomatillo ever. Inside this Chinese Lantern grows a tomato-like fruit with delicious tartness for my salsa and my sandwiches.

Giant green tomatillo

Bush beans make a debut this season in the garden

Beans, beans, good for the heart even though they make you fart

FRUIT

Nectarines, peaches, blackberries, strawberries…

Nectarines await

Peach, sunny side up

Blackberries...if the birds let me have some

Strawberries. Sweet!

FLOWERS

The Geum bloomed! I REALLY like this flower. It is the first perennial I planted myself so it has a special place in my heart. Now, where are all those butterflies?

Geum is here!

The Butterfly bush just keeps on blooming!

This sure is a pretty flower

The Sage continues to bloom as well

Too fly for a wild plant!

MISCELLANEOUS

I managed to kill most of my gourd plants but the Small Apple Gourd is alive and producing

Apple gourd.

The Avocado tree in a pot lives in spite of my gruesome neglect

Avocado leaf...guacamole in the making!

Finally, my garden-help needs to learn to put his shoes on correctly

Left foot, right foot

Over and out.

2 Responses to “State of the Garden”

  1. Paul Says:

    Love your blog David! HAPPY BIRFDAY!

  2. Gardener on Sherlock Street Says:

    Everyone should have fun garden boots like those!
    You peas and carrots are much farther along than mine.
    Great about the tomatillo! I see you’re getting the hang of your new camera.


Leave a Reply

