Long gone visitors

It has been a while since the last time butterflies visited my back yard. I’ve almost grown used to their absence. So it was a nice surprise when a small kaleidoscope (a.k.a a rabble or swarm) of butterflies visited yesterday evening.

I looked online and was able to identify them; they were Red Admiral butterflies.

Red Admiral (Vanessa atalanta)

"Are you looking at me?"

BAGGED FRUIT

Some of the fruit I bagged on the tree have dropped off. I don’t know why. It could have been the windy days and nights we had recently. I suppose the bag could have acted as a sail and magnified the wind effect. It could have been that those particular fruit were weak to begin with. I know it was not the bag because bagging fruit on the tree it’s an established and proven method of pest control. None of the websites that showed this method reported this problem.

Body bag

Over and out.

Posted in Spring. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Long gone visitors”

  1. Princessdiva Says:

    We’ve had some butterflies as well, and even a few really big fat bumblebees (the yellow and black ones). Some of my peaches are falling off too. I was hoping that it is just the tree’s way of thinning down a little. The other ones are growing though, and I am sure looking forward to harvesting them in July!!

    • yaquigrande Says:

      I don’t know if it’s normal for a peach tree to shed fruit. Mine has dropped quite a few but still is choke-full of them. Funny, I also had a couple of big half-black bumble bees flying around the garden this weekend.

  2. Window On The Prairie Says:

    I think fruit trees shed some fruit for some reason, don’t know why.
    Suzanne


Leave a Reply

